Scholarship Winners


The Walter J. Travis Society is very proud to announce the winners of its three 2018 Walter J. Travis Memorial Scholarships and the 2018 Walter J. Travis-Rudy Zocchi Memorial Scholarship.  Each of these scholars deserves our congratulations for their outstanding achievements in the classroom, positive contributions and service to various organizations in their schools or communities, and, their success in golf.  There were 30 applicants from throughout the U.S. and Canada, representing the following categories of eligibility:  Professional Golf Management, Sports Journalism, Turfgrass Science, Landscape Design, and amateur golfer.

The three winners of The Walter J. Travis Memorial Scholarship are:

Lily Sweet King, of Tallahassee, FL, will be entering the University of Mississippi in the fall. She finished near the top of her 452 member Senior class, with an impressive high school career that included active participation and leadership in several committees of student government.  Lily Sweet’s involvement and contributions to community, Girl Scouts, and church are truly remarkable, displaying leadership, initiative, creativity, and passion.  Her active commitment to social issues is reflected in her creation of a Girl Scout Gold Award program that brought together 110 Seniors from 10 local high schools to share ideas and thoughts about their community.  Lily Sweet’s four-year career as a first-team varsity golfer was another significant qualifying factor in her selection as a Travis Society scholar.

Annika Josephine Kuleba, of Albemarle, NC, is a recent high school graduate with a remarkable record of academic achievement and active involvement in various school, church, Girl Scout, and community programs and activities.  She successfully captained her high school’s golf team through regional and state championship tournaments.  Her direct involvement in golf course maintenance has led to an awareness and interest in the challenges of turfgrass management.  She will be entering Sweet Briar College, in Sweet Briar, VA, this fall, pursuing a program in Environmental Science, with a personal goal of discovering environmentally safe ways to manage turf.  Annika has signed an NCAA Division III letter to play golf at Sweet Briar.

Samuel Warne, of Sag Harbor, NY, has been accepted in the Business School of the University of South Carolina.  Sam finished his high school career with strong academic credentials, and the reputation as “one of the most decorated athletes” in his school’s history.  He was an all-state soccer player and all-county baseball player, and earned a scholarship for “leadership, character, and sportsmanship” from the Eastern Long Island Referees.  Sam’s several letters of recommendation lauded the positive character and leadership traits that earned him the highest respect of his peers, teammates, and teachers.  He has been immersed in golf since an early age, with experiences that have fostered a great appreciation for the game and its playing fields, and a desire to share his passion for the game, perhaps as a “club professional” or golf course designer.

The Walter J. Travis-Rudy Zocchi Memorial Scholarship was created to honor both Walter J. Travis and Rudy Zocchi.  Rudy’s dedicated, thorough, and tireless research added immeasurably to the Travis Society’s literature and knowledge about Walter J. Travis.  He was a special friend of the Travis Society.

The first winner of The Walter J. Travis-Rudy Zocchi Memorial Scholarship:

Devon Carroll, of Thornhurst, PA, was awarded a Bachelors of Science degree from Penn State University in December 2016, with a major in Turfgrass Science.  Her outstanding academic achievement has continued as she pursues a Masters Degree in Agronomy, with a specialty in Turfgrass Science and Research.  Devon has a very impressive record of participation and service to numerous organizations and causes, both locally and nationally, and has earned accolades for her work ethic, motivation, initiative, and leadership abilities.  We look forward to following her career, with the expectation that her abilities, passion, and research will lead to the improvement and sustainability of golf course turfgrass

The winner of the Walter J. Travis Society Scholarship reserved for students associated with a Travis Society Member Club is:

Jack Devic, of Orchard Park Country Club, in Orchard Park, NY.  Jack is an avid golfer with a record of success on his high schcool golf team.  For 2018-19, Jack is a Junior at Millersville University, and a member of the University’s golf team.




2 Responses to Scholarship Winners

  1. Anonymous says:

    When will 2016 winners be announced?

  2. Deb Gardner says:

    How and when can I apply for this scholarship

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s